skip navigation

Ram Boys Cross Teams Compete in Portage Invitational

By Jeannie Gregory, 10/05/19, 10:45PM EDT


The RHS boys cross country team ~ Photo by Douglas Photography

Varsity boys land 13th, JV team places 5th

PORTAGE – The Rams boys cross country team competed in the Portage Invitational, Saturday, Oct. 5, and were finally able to enjoy sunny skies and a rain-free event. The Rams varsity team toed the line in Division 1 with runners in a 40-school field and came home with a 13th-place finish. The Rockford JV team landed fifth in the JV Division 1 competition.

In the varsity division, Brighton claimed first with 102 points, St Xavier (Ohio) landed second with 113 and Dexter rounded out the top three with 149. The Rams placed 13th with a total of 384.

Junior Jude Parks paced the Rams landing 14th out of 278 runners with a time of 15:45.1, which was a PR for him in his career. Sophomore Kyle Sweeney placed 68th clocking in at 16:42.7, followed by senior Ian Cook who landed 81st with a time of 16:51.0. Rounding out the top five for the Rams were senior Jacob Majoor in 103rd with a time of 17:04.7, and freshman Jacob Brown with a time of 17:10.8. Also placing for the Rams were Alex Fahey (163), and Colin Graham (167).

The JV Division found Brighton claiming first with 37 points, Saline claiming second with 76, followed by Ann Arbor Pioneer’s 108, and Hartland’s 157, with Rockford rounding out the top five with 179.

Carson Laffterty was the top JV Ram runner, landing a 24th out of 669 runners with a time of 17:32.6. Brandon Roach placed 34th clocking in at 17:42.0. Sam Johnson placed 40th with a time of 17:45.1, and teammate Kyle Herman followed closely being in 41st clocking in at 17:45.5. Rounding out the top five runners for the Rams was Kaiden Hunt, who timed in at 17:58.5. Also running for the Rams were Charles Lewis (110), Trenton Winter (119), Bryce Ronk (120), Austin Miller (127), Jack Paras (135), Sam Majoor (139), Michael Rozzano (182), Ross Fiske(191), Logan Paul (196), William Carlson (201), Ben Antel (214), Ryan Karwowski (256), Blake Carlson (280), Liam Petersen (289), Jared Wagen (303), Connor Robach (313), Jacob Bissell (329), Alex Cid (381), Ryley Carroll (385), Patrick Harvey (404), Elliott Clayton (432), Alex Keenan (440), Dean Kauffman (452), Sterling Dickson (465), Nick Engel (477), Antonia Espinosa (497), Aaron Mixon (516), Gavin Stone (532), Bryce Garcia (582), Holden Rayburn (614), Hunter Reed (615).

The team will compete next in the OK Red Jamboree #2 at East Kentwood High School, Wednesday, Oct. 9.