skip navigation

Both Rams JV Cross Teams Claim OK Red Championships

By Jeannie Gregory, 10/18/19, 7:15PM EDT


Nora Hoekert led the Rams and claimed first in the JV OK Red Championships. ~ Kyla Ewen

GRAND RAPIDS – The Rams JV cross country teams made their mark on the course at Riverside Park, Thursday, Oct. 17, at the OK Red Conference Championships. Both teams earned first-place finishes and featured individual champions in their respective races.

In the girls competition, the Rams claimed the meet with 35 points. Caledonia followed with 55 and West Ottawa rounded out the top three with 80. Hudsonville placed fourth with 84, Grand Haven 113, Grandville 168, and East Kentwood followed in seventh with 207 points.

The girls competition saw five Rams breaking the top 10. It also featured two Ram runners who came close to having the exact same times, with just .5 hundredths of a second between them. Ram freshman Nora Hoekert placed first in the conference, crossing the line with a time of 20:47.5. Mara Sweeney followed in seventh with a time of 21:30.7. The duo that were so close in times were Riley Thompson and Rylee Zandstra, finishing eighth and ninth, with times of 21:35.2 and 21:35.7, respectively. Ram Natalie Allshouse was in the mix, too, placing immediately after the duo in 10th with a time of 21:38.1.

Laura Kellner placed 17th with a time of 22:22.5, Lilly Weirich placed 18th with a time of 22:27.0, Sophia Ullery in 21st with a time of 22:39.4, Scarlet Beachy placed 24th with a time of 22:47.2, Emily Danks landed in 33rd clocking in at 23:02.2 all landed in the top 50. Allison Everhart-Deckard (52), Sylvia Sandman (58), Jordan Duvall (68), Anna Dudka (76), Katherine Scott (79), Ruth Kauffman (93), Kendall Weiss (94), Samantha Hathaway (95), Sadie Bushman (108), and Katie Host (133) all placed for the Rams.

The boys competition saw the Rams tally only 36 points to claim the meet. They were followed by Caledonia with 52 points, and Grand Haven in third with 65. Grandville finished fourth with 122 points, East Kentwood 123, Hudsonville 138, and West Ottawa placed seventh with 198 points.

The Rams were led by Colin Graham, who landed first place with a time of 17:37.1 and Carson Lafferty placed third clocking in at 17:51.1. The boys race also featured two Rams separated by 100ths of a second with Brandon Roach placing eighth with a time of 18:12.2, and Evan Veldkamp immediately following in 9th with a time of 18:12.4. Sam Johnson rounded out the top five Ram times with a 15th place finish, clocking in at 18:21.3.

Austin Miller placed 20th with a time of 18:27.7, William Carlson placed 25th at 18:35.4, Ben Antel placed 32nd at 18:46.5, Bryce Ronk landed 35th at 18:47.5, Trenton Winter placed 39th with a time of 18:52.5, and Charles Lewis earned 40th with a time of 18:54.0.

Also placing for the Rams were: Ross Fiske (44), Dylan Williams (45), Jack Paras (46), Sam Majoor (52), Kyle Herman (55), Michael Rozzano (57), Liam Peterson (60), Ryan Karwowski (61), Jacob Mertes (78), Blake Carlson (81), Jacob Bissell (84), Ryley Carroll (88), Jared Wagen (89), Connor Robach (101), Elliott Clayton (105), Dean Kauffman (114), Alex Cid (115), Nick Engel (119), Patrick Harvey (120), Sterling Dickson (125), Antonio Espinosa (128), Jared Leitch (133), Gavin Stone (150), Hunter Reed (154), Aaron Mixon (157), Bryce Garcia (179), Charlie Grimm (182), Holden Rayburn (183), and Alex Keenan (185).

Mara Sweeney ~ Photo by Kyla Ewen

Riley Thompson and Rylee Zandstra running together in the Conference Championships. ~ Photo by Sarah Zandstra

Rylee Zandstra and Riley Thompson finishing in the Conference Championships. ~ Photo by Sarah Zandstra

Allison Everhart-Deckard ~ Photo by Kyla Ewen

Katie Host ~ Photo by Kyla Ewen

Jack Paras ~ Photo by Kyla Ewen

Ben Antel and Bryce Ronk ~ Photo by Kyla Ewen

Connor Robach ~ Photo by Kyla Ewen

Evan Veldkamp ~ Photo by Kyla Ewen

Nick Engel ~ Contributed Photo

Jordan Duvall ~ Photo by Kyla Ewen

Grace Flanders ~ Photo by Sarah Zandstra

Sylvia Sandman ~ Photo by Sarah Zandstra

Leading the pack is Riley Thompson, with Natalie Allshouse and Riley Zandstra, in pursuit. ~ Photo by Kyla Ewen

Lily Weirich and Lauren Kellner ~ Photo by Kyla Ewen

From left: Brandon Roach, Carson Lafferty, and Colin Graham ~ Photo by Kyla Ewen

Charlie Grimm ~ Photo by Kyla Ewen

Dylan Williams, Sam Majoor, Kyle Herman and Charlie Lewis ~ Photo by Kyla Ewen

Ryley Carroll ~ Contributed Photo